New board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2014, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New board

Hi guys, I am new here and looking for advice on a new stick. I have been snowboarding for many years on and off, but I have 0 days the last 3 years due to living in the Netherlands. I am 5'10'' and weigh 168 pounds and I would say I am an advanced rider who enjoys pow, tree lines, natural features and when that's not possible I just want to have fun around the mountain; almost no park, no hard charging.

My last board was a Flow Strike, which is really banged up so I am looking to replace it. I will keep my old bindings and boots which are Raiden Blackhawks and Northwave Legends respectively. I was initially eyeying the K2 Raygun which should be similar flex wise to my old board and plus is a rocker which is something I want to try, but I am having second thoughts now and thinking that maybe I should be looking at something a bit more advanced (I found some good deals for Capita DOA or Ride Machete for example). Thing is that the best case scenario for me is two trips of 5-6 days max per year, so I am not sure if it is worth it and I should just stick with a Raygun.

What would you do? Any other suggestions for boards that would suit me?
jimbo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2014, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

The raygun will be a fun snowboard, and good for coming back from a break but might be a little boring or soft once you get back in the swing of things.

the doa and machete are true twin and more on the freestyle side of things. you loose some pow float that you would get from a directional board.