Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Snowboard lenght? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/124641-snowboard-lenght.html)

JustinHD 02-03-2014 12:15 PM

Snowboard lenght?

Hello

I'm a beginner snowboarding enthusiast and I'm looking to purchase a board to get used to and refine my snowboarding skills. I've been riding rentals till now but by doing so its a bit harder to learn because everytime you get a different board...different lenght etc.

I'm 6.2", 210 pounds and for boots I use 10-10.5.

I've researched a bit on the net and via friends who practice this sport for quite some time but I am still unsure what board size I need or whats best for my body ratio.

I'm looking for standard snowboarding on marked slopes, no tricks or rocks/trees, at least not now.

So, what board size do you guys think I need?

During my rental "trials" i've ridden 155-164 but due to the lack of experience I didn't notice any difference.

Thanks.

poutanen 02-03-2014 12:39 PM

For your weight/ability I would target something right around the 160-162 mark. Keep in mind that many boards are built differently, and the main factor affecting length is weight.

So when you're shopping for a board, look at the suggested weight range for a particular board, and try to get the size that you're closest to the middle of.

The style you'd be looking for should be "all-mountain" which basically means it's a middle of the road board, instead of a park or off-piste oriented board.

JustinHD 02-03-2014 01:03 PM

Thanks for the reply.

Only one problem with researching the recommended weight for a board.
I'm looking to buy a refurbished board (or a second hand one) and most of the time these boards are kinda old in terms of models so finding the exact board is close to impossible.