Snowboard lenght? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2014, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Snowboard lenght?

Hello

I'm a beginner snowboarding enthusiast and I'm looking to purchase a board to get used to and refine my snowboarding skills. I've been riding rentals till now but by doing so its a bit harder to learn because everytime you get a different board...different lenght etc.

I'm 6.2", 210 pounds and for boots I use 10-10.5.

I've researched a bit on the net and via friends who practice this sport for quite some time but I am still unsure what board size I need or whats best for my body ratio.

I'm looking for standard snowboarding on marked slopes, no tricks or rocks/trees, at least not now.

So, what board size do you guys think I need?

During my rental "trials" i've ridden 155-164 but due to the lack of experience I didn't notice any difference.

Thanks.
JustinHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2014, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

For your weight/ability I would target something right around the 160-162 mark. Keep in mind that many boards are built differently, and the main factor affecting length is weight.

So when you're shopping for a board, look at the suggested weight range for a particular board, and try to get the size that you're closest to the middle of.

The style you'd be looking for should be "all-mountain" which basically means it's a middle of the road board, instead of a park or off-piste oriented board.
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)

Thanks for the reply.

Only one problem with researching the recommended weight for a board.