beginner/intermediate board recommendation - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 03:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default beginner/intermediate board recommendation

I'm a longtime expert skier looking to get serious about boarding. I've spent about 30 hours on a board so far, found that I really enjoy it (aside from the bruised knees and butt) and want to buy a board that will not only be forgiving enough for a beginner but will allow me to progress through and perhaps beyond intermediate levels. I can't spend too much without pissing off my wife so my budget is limited to around $4 - 500. Oh, and I live in Korea so there is no such thing as powder or backcountry. Pretty much all groomed runs with ice and crud mixed in occasionally.

After spending a few days studying and browsing store websites, I am leaning towards purchasing the Burton Process Flying V 159 with Cartel EST Bindings. I wasn't thinking to go with Burton bindings as well but I've read a lot of good things about the EST system.

What do you guys think?
skoram is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-04-2014, 06:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

i think that will be a really fun setup for you.
Old 02-04-2014, 07:11 AM   #3 (permalink)

Definitely get the est bindings if you end up going with a Burton board.
vajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:56 AM   #4 (permalink)

thanks for the quick replies guys.

Barring any serious negative feedback, I will probably pick up the board and EST bindings the day after tomorrow.

I mainly want to make sure that the Process Flying V fits my needs reasonably well as far as being a decent intermediate board that will do well on groomed runs.

I forgot to mention in my OP that I'm 6'2," and weigh about 182 lbs
Old 02-04-2014, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)