Too much toe/heel overhang - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2009, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Alastair

Default Too much toe/heel overhang

Hi

I'm pretty new to snowboarding and went to buy my first board yesterday.

Having now set it up at home I'm concerned that the board is not wide enough as I have a good inch and a bit overhang on my heels and toes. Though there is about a 60 degree angle from the board edge to the edge of the boot.

Should I take the board back and get a wider one or is this nothing to worry about?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2009, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Dont get a new board, get new bindings. You need a pair of bindings that are the right size for your boots and if that doesn't solve it you need to get bindings with a toe lift.
bakesale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Well since you have no pictures to give some decent feedback on, try strapping in the board, get a chair, put your hands on it and balanace on the edge of the board and see how far you can angle the board (90 degrees from base being the most extreme) before the toe touches the ground and make note of the angle your board is at from a visual perspective. Do it again for your heels. If it's pretty steep of an angle, chances ar you're never gonna touch the ground with it unless you plan on alpine carving and/or doing some very aggressive angled carves. With the bindings on, the toes and heels are elevated quite a bit above the ground so I don't think an inch is much to worry about in general.

Screw being normal
Vlaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Alastair

Here are some pictures. Thanks for your replies
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG00016.jpg (65.9 KB, 92 views)