Buying first board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Buying first board

5'9''
160lbs
I'm just starting out and am hoping to eventually be able to do some freestyle stuff but for now I need a board that'll get me down the hill in control and without falling

I live in Minnesota so unfortunately no mountains

I've gone snowboarding a few times now and am starting to figure out the basics of turning and carving. But I now want to take snowboarding to the next level. My dad has an old Lamar SE 163 board that all I'd have to do is replace the bindings. Or would it be smart of me to purchase like the Sims protocol package from sports authority?

I really just need guidance on what board for a beginner... Or will that Lamar board work for the time being?
tylermoney1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2014, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)

1- how old is the Lamar board exactly? Pictures of the board would be useful.

2- maybe go on a site like Craigslist and buy some bindings to get thru for the rest of the season.

3-What's your boot size. You more then likely would be best with a 158 or shorter depending on your riding style.

4- If you progress enough buy a new board from a local shop or a site like backcountry in May thru June you will find boards and bindings for 50 to 60% off regular price.

Last edited by Dago91; 02-17-2014 at 04:47 PM.
Dago91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dago91 View Post
1- how old is the Lamar board exactly? Pictures of the board would be useful.

2- maybe go on a site like Craigslist and buy some bindings to get thru for the rest of the season.