Noob here. I need an adult! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2014, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question Noob here. I need an adult!

I just started snowboarding 3 years ago, and I want to buy a board! I have been reading up on sizing, brands, styles, etc. Something that I learned stuck out to me... Buying cheap or a lightly used board is [possibly] a better option in case I chip it or something of the like. Anyway, does anybody have any advice or recommendations? I'm a 21 y/o female 5' 8" 118-120 lbs. Thank you!

edit: I am also aware of splurging on boots and have basic knowledge about bindings.

edit2: Looking for an "all mountain". I ride mostly in the Poconos, but will be moving to Seattle next year if that would have any baring on choosing a type of board.

Last edited by vertigoat; 02-20-2014 at 09:17 PM. Reason: bindings/boots
vertigoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-20-2014, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)

If you're looking for used... Probably best place to look is on Ebay, Craig's list, Kijiji or even down in the buy/sell forum section... End of season sales are going to be happening soon, so new stuff will be on sale near the end of the march. Could potentially snag something you really want for 40% off or more.

I can't recommend anything specific, but I would stick to a rocker board (easier to learn on). And at your weight you're looking for something between 144-148 cm... Your height doesn't mean much, imo. Its mostly about your weight, and having enough weight to get some flex out of your board.
KellionBane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KellionBane View Post