NS Proto HDX - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2014, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default NS Proto HDX

Noob here looking for advice on a new board. After catching an edge (again) and dislocating a shoulder on my current board (Ride Antic 165W), I'm looking to buy one that is a little more forgiving.

The Proto HDX was recommended by a friend and seems like a good option based on the reviews/descriptions that I've read. I'm 6'2", 215, with a size 13 boot so I want to be sure that this board would work given my size. Looks like 163 is the largest one NS makes.

If anyone has experience with this board and can speak to its performance with a big rider, I'd appreciate the info.

Also, someone mentioned a Never Summer "debacle" in this Proto HDX review but didn't elaborate. Is this anything to be concerned about or just drama?
JPBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2014, 08:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Drunk with power...er beer.

That was just drama.

I hate the parts between winter
Donutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I suggest just slowing it down and learning to ride. Learn to initiate turns with your front foot and edge catches all but disappear.

That said NS and other rocker middle camber outside profiles are more forgiving than camber but you can still get taken down hard with those camber sections.

The most forgiving boards yet stable rides I've been on were arbor rocker boards. Look at the element and coda. Not the greatest on pure ice but a joy everywhere else.

And ignore the drama. Just ride what you want.

Last edited by jdang307; 02-23-2014 at 07:25 PM.
jdang307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 10:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Member