Just started, want to stop renting, which board to get - Process, Machete, Raygun? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2014, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Just started, want to stop renting, which board to get - Process, Machete, Raygun?

I'm a complete beginner starting snowboard lessons with my son. I'm 5'11" and 190 lb. Have been a couple times and want to stop renting so looking at used boards and have narrowed my options to these :
Will probably not be used for park.

1) 2011 Burton Process v-rocker 155. Burton Mission EST bindings. $150
Should be easy to ride and learn on, but will this be too short?

2) 2012 Ride Machete 161, Burton Custom reflex bindings. $250
Maybe tougher to learn on due to stiffness.

Or should I just get something new. Found a 2014 K2 Raygun 156 or 159 without bindings for $250. Its a well reviewed board, but I'll be spending a little more than I want to.

Whatever I get will probably not be used for park or powder.
Thoughts? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
voo_doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2014, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

I think this is a good time to look for new boards. I am also a newbie, learning with my kids. I picked a new (2013 model) Ride Manic for $150 and I've been pretty happy with it. It has a flat bottom with rocker on the ends and I can do blues with it comfortably. I've even caught air coming of a mini-half pipe From what I've read, the Manic may be a better choice than the Machete for a beginner, the Machete is stiffer I believe.