Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Hot Knife vs TRS XC2BTX (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/131930-hot-knife-vs-trs-xc2btx.html)

jw9315 03-02-2014 04:54 PM

Hot Knife vs TRS XC2BTX

Hi All,
I'm trying to decide between a Hot Knife and TRS XC2BTX - I was wondering if anyone had tried both of these boards and could comment on things i should bear in mind if i'm deciding between them?

some details on me:

- boot size U.S. 9
- weight: 66 kg (145 lbs)
- height: 5 foot 8

i was thinking of the 153 hot knife or the 154 TRS XC2BTX.

I've been riding a camber board for the last ten years, so don't mind sticking with that.

My main priorities are:

1. riding on groomers
2. doing small jumps off natural features
3. powder

I don't do any jibbing/boxes or rails

I also steered clear of the travis rice boards due to hearing that they are more suitable for people with bigger boots - should i have the same concern about the TRS board? The hot knife looks quite narrow, so i'm not worried about that.

thanks in advance,

ek9max 03-10-2014 01:26 AM

I've been riding for a year so about 50 days under my belt. So my experience may not be of much value to you.

However I found the TRS to be much better than the Hot knife. On groomers is seemed just as good (I'm by no means a carving expert). Just as stable and easier to turn with the TRS. However in powder I found it MUCH better.

I have a 154 TRS and a 156 Hot knife.

24WERD 03-10-2014 01:42 AM

154 ns proto

C3 at reg size not good for powder.

Xc2 us also fine but don't like the base

ek9max 03-10-2014 01:44 AM

Yea I didn't like the idea of an extruded base.

But I tell ya. I glide past everybody on the cat tracks. Extruded or sintered. The TRS glides awesome.

Wombat401 03-11-2014 12:22 AM