Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Boot recommendation..... (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/1330-boot-recommendation.html)

AK-Man 10-17-2007 04:17 AM

Boot recommendation.....

Hey all. It is time for me to order boots. I have been to the limited retailers in my area and none have boots that I think fit right or that I am interested in purchasing. I am going to order online.

At the retailers, size 12 was too big and size 11.5 was too small (different brands but selection was such that there were no same brand 11.5 and 12's).

Anyway, I am thinking of going with 11.5 (as I am told tighter is better than loose).

What I am looking for is brand name recommendations. I don't know a good boot from a bad boot so need to shop by brand I think. I am open to any other feedback.

I am brand new to snowboarding. I am 245 pounds and 6' 0" tall.

Any recommendations on brand would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jim

lisevolution 10-17-2007 09:48 AM

It's hard to order boots online... always better to try them on first. Generally some good boot brands are 32, Ride, Deeluxe, DC, Burton, Nitro, Vans, Salomon. Ride and Salomon make a nice lower profile boot that allow bigger feet to fit on a narrower board ex. if your an 11 you would normally need to a mid-wide or wide board but there footprint is more like a 9.5/10 so you can get away with a regular size board. I think a safe boot for you to try out online is the 32 Lashed. It's a very strong all around boot and feels like a skate shoe on your feet. It's not super stiff nor is it super soft where it'll break down easy. I just went with Nitro MFM boots for this year but I've ridden 32's, Ride's, Burtons and Vans. I can't comment on the MFM's since I haven't ridden with them yet, but my favorite boots were my Ride's.

st.stark 10-17-2007 11:43 AM