Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Can a woman ride a men's board? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/139673-can-woman-ride-mens-board.html)

ListenUp 05-04-2014 05:48 PM

Can a woman ride a men's board?

Hey guys, I'm 5'7, 135 pounds, and I'm looking at some men's and woman's boards. I wonder if there's such a big difference with men's boards compared to woman. I'm not a beginner,I've been riding for about four years, and I need a new board. I have a 2010/2011 Women's 144cm Burton Feather. I'm looking for something a little but more stable to control at higher speeds.
So is it wise to get a men's board?

Manicmouse 05-04-2014 06:03 PM

I'd check out what all the sponsored ladies are riding in the top teams.

I don't see why women couldn't ride a men's board if it was the right size for them.

My wife learnt on a Burton Feather too, very much a beginner board so it's a great move to upgrade! You'll never want to see an extruded base and capped board again :) (FYI she's now riding a 2012 Rome LoFi)

Kevin137 05-04-2014 06:18 PM

It's more to do with weight not height, then the stiffness of the board, but look at anything from large kids boards, to small adult mens boards.

Depending on how big you want to go there are loads to choose from, Neni would probably have the best answer for you... ;)

wrathfuldeity 05-04-2014 07:42 PM

ya can...

but imho...I'm a guy that rides a women's board...because I gotz size 7 feets and wear women's 7.5-8 focus boas.

the factor is foot/boot size and the flex rating and your weight. At your weight ur a bit light for a guys board. idk your foot/boot size but its important for edge to edge response....if your foot is too small for the width...it will be very sluggish and cumbersome.

Oldman 05-04-2014 08:34 PM

Quote: