Help me find a more playful board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cold Feet

Default Help me find a more playful board

Well guys (and girls?) this is my first post, though I have gleaned tons of great advice from all of you this season. So for that, I thank you all!

I've been snowboarding for about 10 years, mostly in the "steep and deep" camp. Most of my riding involves carving bowls, tree riding, bombing hills, and finding as much powder as possible. Recently I have the desire to do more than just bomb hills. Not riding park, rails, or halfpipe mind you, but just taking more advantage of the natural terrain. I want to learn how to butter, do more ollies, ride more fakie, and just infuse a little more fun into my riding. The problem is, I'm having a hell of a time doing this with my regular board, a LibTech T.Rice 162 MTX. For high speed runs and powder, it absolutely kills. But when I want to be a little more playful, it just wants to be manhandled.

I am 6'2" and 190 lbs. with a size 11 boot. I'm keeping my T.Rice for the deep days, but I would like some recommendations for a board that is a bit more playful. I'm not against trying some of the new reverse camber technologies, or TBT, or whatever. I've looked at boards like the SL-R, and some of the Bataleon stuff, but I'm new to a lot of this technology. My previous requirements were always "fast and stiff", so I've never really considered anything else. Mind you, I'm not looking for a wet noodle of a board either. I still want some stability when I decide to go for some deep carves.

The budget is really not an object, but due to past experiences, I'm not an enormous fan of Burton boards and bindings.

So, let's hear it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2009, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)