How's this for a starter build? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2007, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Liquidmantis

Default How's this for a starter build?

First off, I've never snowboarded so I know I'll get told to take [a] lesson[s] and rent but I'm stupidly convinced that I should just jump in head first (or fall down head first a lot). I've got extensive slalom waterski experience, I consider myself a decent snow skier, and I play around on longboards and a carveboard regularly. I know the skills won't directly translate to snowboarding and I'm prepared to bust my ass but I'm assuming that the background and balance will start me off well.

I lean more toward the carving style of riding but I'll probably want to throw in some jumps and basic tricks but I don't have much if any interest in park riding. If I do it'll be the rare exception.

I'm 6', currently at 160# as I lost about 10# in the stress of my recent move. I'm planning on bulking over the winter and will probably be up to 175-180 by the end of the season. Shoe size 9, probably getting a 26.5 or 27 boot. I ride normal stance and I'll be mostly riding at Loveland in CO this year, with some scouting to Arapahoe Basin and Winterpark very likely.

That said, here's what I'm starting to look at gear wise:
Board:
Ride Concept TMS 161
Rome Solution 160
Considered the Atomic Cold Smoke or Radon but thought that those, especially the stiff Radon, are probably left as an option for an upgrade board later.

Bindings:
Rome 390

Boot:
Salomon Synapse Wide
Will try boots in store to see what fits my hobbit feet the best.

Comments? Other than I'm an idiot for not going out under someone's wing first...

Last edited by Liquidmantis; 10-22-2007 at 09:22 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-22-2007, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
st.stark