Too much board for a small rider? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2009, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Too much board for a small rider?

Hello,

I am a new snowboarder and new to this forum. I have been boarding every weekend for a few months now and am having a hard time linking turns and I wonder if my board has anything to do with it. I bought a progression board (Arbor Eden 144) with the hopes that I would grow into it and be able to ride it for several seasons. However, I have been doing some research and recently learned that the recommended weight for this board starts at 130 pounds, but I only weigh 105 pounds. Also, when I compare the stiffness of the Eden to other progression boards from Ride and Burton, I find that it is A LOT stiffer, even though it is classified as a progression all-mountain board.

So basically I'm wondering if my Eden is just too much board for me and if it would be worth it to purchase a more flexible board to learn on. Also, if it is too stiff, would it be possible to grow into this board at some point, or should I get rid of it and replace it completely with something more appropriate to my size?

About me: I'm 28, 5'0'' tall, 105 pounds, female, not very athletic or aggressive, but am committed to learn to board. I'm interested in spending most of my time on the groomers and in the trees, not so much in the park.

I appreciate any advice you can give, as I would like to take advantage of the sale prices and purchase soon if I need to. I feel pretty lost at this point....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2009, 12:48 AM
Veteran Member

it will be stiff, with that said a stiff board will not be impossible to learn on and it will not screw up your habits. it just makes it less easy, aka harder

Lib Tech Skate banana
Flow NXT-FS