noober's #1 post : few questions on equip - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2009, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default noober's #1 post : few questions on equip

Alrite, so first post.. here it goes
I've been riding for 2-3 years in L.A and go about 6 times every season (Bear mountain/snow summit!!) and never got around to buying a board and wasted away money at rentals.
I've finally decided to get a board setup (now that the season's over), and am finding out that the search is a pain in the ass (what with the 200000 different models out there). All I've narrowed down my search to is that i want it to be all-mountain, new and run less than $400 for the setup.
My questions to you experts are:
1/When's the right time to make the purchase? now as the season ends? at the start of next year's season or dead in the middle of the summer..
2/Should i buy boots, bindings and boards from the same manufacturer/retail store? Buy them separately from each other? or buy a "Package"?
3/And are the retail stores like dogfunk the way to go? or does e-bay hold anything of quality that is worth the hassle of actually going through to find...
mashya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2009, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

Hello, I think right now is an ok time to buy. prices are pretty darn good the only problem is that most of the sales have been going on for a while so the items left in stock are going to be very picked over already.
Buying everything from one place really doesn't matter too much. Just try and figure out what you want and then see if anyone has it in stock any more.
For boots it is also a good idea to go try some on at a local shop and see what feels good to you. Then either buy them there or if you think you can do better online just order them.