Now accepting advise on a Freeride Setup - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Lightbulb Now accepting advise on a Freeride Setup

So I'm still fairly new to snowboarding but spent a good amount of time riding this winter. I got comfortable carving down diamonds and really liked the feeling.... that is, until the runs got beaten to hell over the course of the day and my board started to chatter, and I had to tighten down my boots and bindings until my feet went numb to get the response I wanted. My current setup is: K2 Format Wide 165, Drake Super Sports, and Burton Motos. It works well for just screwing around and would be fine if I ever wanted to learn freestyle, but I really would like to get some better equipment for Freeriding.
I have done some research and included some options I am looking into below. Any input, comparisons, or options I should eliminate would be appreciated. I am 6'3" 250 if it helps.

Board: I am pretty familiar with my options here. Just waiting to find something stiffer and a little longer(167-169) on a good deal. One question though... I know a lot of companies are now coming out with rockers now... Should I stay away from these?

Bindings: ???
Rome - Arsenal
Solomon - Caliber
Flux - Super Titan, Super Diamond
Drake - Podium
Ride - SPi
Union - Force

Boots: Obviously, in a perfect world I would be able to try them on before I buy them. I have only seen some of the Solomon's and Buton in the local stores though, so I was wondering if there was one that might be worth getting and possibly returning if they don't fit.
My foot is pretty average as far as width and arch go.

Solomon - Malamute(9/10 Stiffness), Synapse 8/10, F24 8/10, F22 7/10
Burton - Driver X 10/10, Ion 8/10
Northwave - Decade SL 8/10
ThirtyTwo - Prime 8/10, Circuit 9/10, Focus 8/10