Need help on board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Need help on board

I am looking to get my first snowboard. I have only been 3 times so I am not very good at all, but I feel like I am starting to get the hang of it. I am trying to decide which board to get though. I have kinda narrowed it down to the Burton Custom 162 wide and the Gnu Riders Choice BTX wide. Which of those boards are better or if you have any other wide board to suggest for a beginner please let me know. By the way I am 6'3 215 with a size 14 boot. Thanks everyone for your help.
Thunder21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2009, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)

The custom is a decent all around board. I believe the Riders Choice is a little softer and designed more for park riding. A lot of people will say to get a soft board to start out on but as a large rider myself (63 250) I will say that you can outgrow it in a hurry. It all depends on what you want to do though, a soft board wouldnt be bad for the park.

Those boards might be a little narrow for your 14s. The Custom Wide 162 has a 26.0cm waist width. Usually, people advise a 26cm waist for size 12s, something in the upper 26cm range for 13s, and low 27cm range for 14s (give or take a few mm for stance width, angles, sidecut, boot footprint, binding/boot compatibility, and riding style (park vs carve)).

I would definitely check out K2, Nitro, & Never Summer (when they go wide, they mean it). I learned last year an a K2 Format Wide and it was good times but Im looking for something stiffer now. The K2 Podium Wide is a step above the Format and would be a good option for you. Look at the Nitro: Magnum, Shield Wide, or Misfit Wide, and Never Summer: Revolver, Legacy, or Heratage.