Help picking my first board? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-23-2015, 04:57 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Help picking my first board?

Hi everyone, I have been snowboarding for probably 4-5 seasons now. But I always got a package deal that came with rentals. Now I'm looking to get my own board setup for next season. I pretty much already know what I want but I haven't had much luck finding it. I am not really into the snowboard scene so I don't really know where to look or even what is a good brand.

I am about 6'2" and weigh about 195. I am definitely looking for more of an all mountain board. I like jumping and I am just learning rotation tricks. So I don't want a super long board. I don't ride switch a lot but I am trying to learn that. So I would want a twin or switch twin board. I am thinking somewhere in between the 158-161 range would be a good size? Also I would like to get a hybrid kind of like Burton's flying-v so that way I am not catching my edges so much but I can still get some pop off of jumps. And lastly I am thinking a board that is right in the middle, not too stiff but definitely not super soft would be good? I am not trying to have the best newest board out there. I would rather buy an older model or something like that to save some $$ as this is like my 4th hobby. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. I have spent a few hours on different sites trying to find a board like that with not much luck.

Also, I wear a size 12.5-13 boot so am I going to need a wider then normal board? Sorry I am pretty new to all of this. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-23-2015, 09:18 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
What's your budget and the area your riding?

A few boards to look at are

Yes Jackpot
Rome Reverb Rocker
NS Proto

Cross your fingers and hope Nivek comes across this thread.