Need some help deciding - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2009, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
intineus

Default Need some help deciding

Hey guys. I've been riding now for about five or six years and it's about time for a new board. I'm looking at either the Burton X8 or the Burton Custom ICS. My question to you guys is this. I can either get a used 2008 Burton X8 with EST bindings or a new 2009 Burton Custom with non EST Burton bindings (which both end up being about the same price). If you guys had the choice, which would you choose? Some background info about me. I'm about 5'10", 150 lbs, 22 years old so not really growing anymore and these two boards are pretty much as much as I'm looking to spend right now. I'm looking for an all around type of board that I can pretty much do anything with (terrain park, free riding, etc). If you guys think one of these boards (or a different board) would fit me better, I appreciate any input. Thanks for everyones' help!

Last edited by intineus; 08-19-2009 at 12:59 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-19-2009, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Well if you want to save a lot of money look elsewhere than burton, They're an overpriced and overhyped company that forces you to pay for the name more than the quality of the product. Try taking a look at

to name a few companies off the top of my head.

GNU
Libtech
Neversummer
Rome
Capita
Stepchild
K2
Omatic

A few boards you might like

GNU Street- I actually used this as my all-mountain board last year, personally I think it's miss-labeled as a jib stick as it more than handles the mountain.
K2 Jibpan
Neversummer EVO
Neversummer SL-R
Libtech Skate Banana
GNU Carbon High Beam
Rome Agent
Libtech Travis Rice

a few decks that come to mind

Last edited by Method; 08-19-2009 at 01:30 AM.