Armour for snow park - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2009, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
spastic_camel

Question Armour for snow park

Hello all,

I have been snowboarding for about 2 years now on the slops and felt that I am ready for the park. I was going to just buy a helmet and go to the park, but I was recommended to get some armour cause it was very likely that I would break my bones at the park.

I have been advised to get wrist guards and knee pads as well as the armour shorts and upper body armour.

Could you guys make recommendations, or suggestions? I am very nervous now since I have always gone with the assumption that most people didn't really wear that much protective equipment underneath their jacket.

Your help and opinion is appreciated.

Thanks,
Spastic Camel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2009, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Definitely get a helmet, and some crash pants are a great choice too. Not only do the pants protect your tailbone if you eat it on a rail/ice etc, but they insulate your ass from the ice-cold chairlift seats.

As for the rest...It's up to you. I don't know many people that ride with upper armor even in the park.

Wristguards are another nice addition. I bought some Level gloves that have wrist protection built in.
Gnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)

I cant speak for everyone but me personally I cant wear protective equiptment, I hate the feeling of bulkyness, and tight straps everywhere. I never wore any and never will it sounds dumb but I feel more safe without it, cuz if I do wear it thats all I think about, and constantly fixing them, loosing my focus making me more susceptible for a crash. if you feel you must wear something then a helmet and wrist gaurds. all the rest I wouldnt bother with tho.