What to wear? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2009, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default What to wear?

Hey everyone!

I'm a snow noob, yup =] LOL, best I've done is walked a city caked in snow... never actually done anything in the snow.

I have my snowboard pants, but was wondering what you wear under them? And under the jacket too?? Just thermals or what??
Blaze182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-11-2009, 10:11 AM   #2 (permalink)

Just use common sense. The colder it is the more you need to layer up. Avoid cottons or other fabrics that don't breathe well. Avoid wools unless it's super cold because they are gross when they get wet, same applies to synthetic fleece.

The best way to go is to get some UnderArmor leggings and compression shirt.
bakesale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
NghtSkyyStarz

Last year I bought some UA base layer stuff which I am pretty happy with. Personal preference since I'm a girl, I like to wear gym tank tops or shirts (with a built in bra) under my jacket but it really depends on the conditions you’re in and where you are riding I think. It never gets THAT cold when I'm up there so I like to be able to take town to cool off. You may want to get a neck gator; they are particularly useful for me on windy days riding the lift. I've gone up a couple of times with out base pants on before, and ended up with a pretty frozen bum!
Old 09-11-2009, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
earlvb

Get a good breathable base layer, then build on that. I actually prefer wool to synthetic, since it doesn't hold odor as bad. I haven't noticed it being gross when wet, but I'm not sure what is meant by that. You can then get some mid layers to build the insulation when it's cold.
Old 09-11-2009, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)