Total Newbie... addicted to tech - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 02:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
TheSwedishChef

Unhappy Total Newbie... addicted to tech

Weight: 190
Boot size: 11
Riding style: groomers, newbie, Freeriding (I expect in the future it will be mostly downhill with a little park)
budget: 1000-1200 cdn
Your location of riding: sigh... eastern Canada for now

I have been skiing all over Canada and I'm bored with it.

I’ve only been on a snowboard a couple of times and
I'm looking to purchase a board and get it set up for the upcoming winter.
The issue I'm having is that I don't want to buy a basic board.
I’ve been reading buyers guides and love the idea of having a board that will last me once
I progress into more intermediate snowboarding.

So... I’ve been thinking about getting a 159 wide skate banana with some union force bindings.
I really love the idea of having the MTX technology to grip the icy hard packed in Ontario,
plus in the future I would want to go on some trips out west so the reverse camber could be nice
(Sadly I'm currently stationed in eastern Canada so its all groomers for me). Is this a terrible idea?

I really just want a board that I will continue to be content with once I'm not on my ass all the time. Since I have a bit of cash to burn right now, I don't want to look back in a year and think that i should have bought better stuff. I suffer from serious gear envy.

I have this problem that when I want to get into something I really want good gear for it.
For instance when I started playing bass guitar I went out and bought an American fender 60th anniversary jazz bass.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by TheSwedishChef; 09-13-2009 at 11:41 AM. Reason: more info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2009, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)