Beginner board length - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 11:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
BoardingBanana

Default Beginner board length

In about a week a will have my first try in a snowboard. This means I did not build up any preference regarding boarding length yet, and I'm a total beginner. I have read that for beginners with a normal posture it's advisable to take a board that it about the same height as your chin. Is this correct?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2009, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

You can go by that rule, or the rule of weight, or the rule of beginner...

It's easier to ride a slightly shorter board as a beginner. Say a board that's 157cm meets your chin, you may want to try a 153cm as your first board.

I'm a tall guy and went with a 164cm as my first board, and for my second board I stepped down into a 161 because I wanted something slightly shorter. People say a shorter board can be more fun, but you need length for riding deep stuff so it kinda depends on where you ride also.

And with your name, I'm assuming your going to buy a banana? My advice is to explore other options and don't just fall into the giant marketing strategy that is the banana boards. Sure they make good boards, but they're not the only board company out there. It seems like everyone is riding a dam banana and it's rather sickening to see so many sheep on the same stick.

Bataleon
Never Summer
Rome
Forum
Stepchild
Arbor
Capita

Are all good board companies.

Good luck and don't put to much thought in dialing your length in perfectly as you will love snowboarding as long as your board is within a handful of the recommended CM's.
Milo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
BoardingBanana

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milo303 View Post