first board help needed - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2009, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question first board help needed

Hey everyone. I'm new to snowboarding(I have around 5 days under my belt) but am hooked. I would like to buy my own gear for this next season or two. Long story short i Weigh 185 am 6'2" I wear a size 11-11.5 boot I like to freeride. The board I am looking at is a 2008 atomic dreamraider 161cm long 25cm waist. I will be getting the boar new for 170 bucks. so a couple of questions 1. good deal? 2. is it too much board for me at this time? 3. I'm worried about toe drag is the board too skinny at the waist for me? Thanks in advance for everyones help.
tsaokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-18-2009, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)

also same three questions except with a 2007 CAPiTA Photo Fetish 156cm long 25.1 cm wide and 2008 ride lx bindings all for a total of$222. Thanks again.
Old 09-18-2009, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Augie09

Have you been sized for boots? that was probably the most important thing I did when first buying gear.

spending about $200 on a first board is smart, no reason to over do it. I can't speak to the model, but I have an Atomic and love it.
Old 09-18-2009, 10:59 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augie09 View Post
Have you been sized for boots? that was probably the most important thing I did when first buying gear.

spending about $200 on a first board is smart, no reason to over do it. I can't speak to the model, but I have an Atomic and love it.
I actually have not been sized for boots. I'm just trying to recall everything from the first of the year. I believe my boot size was smaller than my shoe size. I wear a size 12 shoe and believe my boot was an 11 or 11.5
Old 09-19-2009, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Quote: