New Board for Learning Boarder - to Rock or Not to Rock?!?! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2009, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
kalkooksoo

Default New Board for Learning Boarder - to Rock or Not to Rock?!?!

Ok…I have a 08/09 Burton Custom with the CO2 bindings. It carves like a mofo but seems pretty stiff and aggressive. I am fairly new to snowboarding at 40 years of age but I’ve managed to get good enough on steep blues which I can pound down. I think this board will serve me well to get better on steeper black diamond runs and bowls. However, I am trying to learn how to ride in the park, jib and do some moguls to keep up with my kids who are into that crazy stuff which frankly just gives my kids the opportunity to laugh at me when I bite it. I usually ride at Copper Mountain, Vail and Breck.

I am looking for a new board that will help me learn to do more of the trick/park riding but also have the ability to carve and turn well on steep groomers. Not sure if there is such a thing. I’m about 5’9” and 160lbs. The Burton Custom has a lot of camber and I’ve been thinking of getting a reverse camber or rocker type board. I have heard conflicting information on reverse camber boards…many make it sound its evolutionary and swear they won’t go back to camber, others say its just a marketing ploy.

Last question is, should I use the CO2 binding with the new board? If so, I’d have to get a BUrton board that has the EST binding set up. It’s not necessary that I get a Burton board…just didn’t know whether the CO2 would be good bindings. If something fits my needs better than a burton, I’ll just get a different set of bindings…which by the way, could you recommend bindings to go with the board you recommend?

Although I always like value, I don’t mind dropping some coin on a good board that fits what I need.