Freeride on freestyle? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2009, 07:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
CAtoNC

Default Freeride on freestyle?

I'm new to snowboarding, told the sales guy i was looking for a good all mountain board to learn on and he sold me a '09 burton blunt. Got a descent deal ($160), but got home and immediately found out that he sold me a freestyle board. Should I keep it or return it? Can it be used as a freeride board as well if I'm just learning? I'd like to hit the park some eventually, but want to get comfortable on the mountain first. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-30-2009, 07:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAtoNC View Post
I'm new to snowboarding, told the sales guy i was looking for a good all mountain board to learn on and he sold me a '09 burton blunt. Got a descent deal ($160), but got home and immediately found out that he sold me a freestyle board. Should I keep it or return it? Can it be used as a freeride board as well if I'm just learning? I'd like to hit the park some eventually, but want to get comfortable on the mountain first. Any suggestions?
It should be just fine if you're learning. It's an entry level freestyle board. Just detune the tips, don't file down the entire perimeter of the edge (doing so is a normal thing for park rats), and you'll be fine.

The shop guy only had half an idea what he was talking about and was probably just a Burton whore, but you got lucky. Next time do your own research and know what you want before you even step into the shop, and don't let any non-wonder idiot shop kid change your mind.

You're going to want more board after this season (end of season sales kick ass), but you got a good deal on a decent board that will serve you well for learning.

10/11 - 24, Smote on Feb 13