Moving towards freeriding/big moutnain - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2009, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Moving towards freeriding/big moutnain

Hi everyone,

I've been snowboarding for 5 years now and am pretty confident in my abilities. However most of my riding has been at a smaller local resort so i have always had a more park oriented setup: currently a 06 151 NS evo, t9 mfm pro, and very worn in 32 304's size 8.5. I've recently been going to mammoth more often and now want a new setup for backcountry, chutes, speed, and doing sweeping carves. I still do want something that I can occasionally do park riding with but wouldn't mind forgoing it if the payoff is good as I can always switch to my park board.

I don't really know relatively how a flexy setup compares to a stiff one. I did demo a 159 or 161(don't remember) libtech trx last season and liked the added stability, but it felt very slugish esp for weaving through trees. I'm sure it was because to board was too long for me as I weigh around 150. I'm currently looking at the neversummer sl, heritage, or primier. How much better performace would a premier have freeriding compare to an all mountain board like the sl? Also what size would you recommend?

Lasty, I'm considering getting the 32 primes and rome targas as they have stiffness adjustments that I can change depending on where I'm riding. Any recommendations would be helpful and sorry for the numerous questions. Thanks
Dankul is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2009, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
RallyBowls

do you do switch riding?
Old 10-31-2009, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member