Atomic Axum 2010/Freestyle board use for all-mountain Question - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2009, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Thumbs down Atomic Axum 2010/Freestyle board use for all-mountain Question

Hi everyone,
Was browsing around snowboarding sites, and stumbled on this one.
Never knew a large snowboarding forum existed haha, so Im pretty hyped.

Anyways, I'm a beginner-intermediate rider and I'm curious over a few things.

I recently got my hands on a used 2010 Atomic Axum for a great deal and I'm just wondering if I made the wrong choice since its a more freestyle-oriented board.

Basically, I ride very little park and mainly ride on the groomed and powder runs at resorts. I assume that's called free-riding.
Being kinda new to the sport, I wanted to work on improving my carving this year.

Okay here's the problem. I have not ridden any mid-high end boards before and just got the 2010 atomic axum. However, it's suppose to be a park board.

For those of you who don't know, it has a pop rocker freestyle shape to it, a 2.5 degree park bevel, and a centered stance.

With its shape and specs, I'm curious if I will be able to carve efficiently and go down runs fine?

Will the 2.5degree bevel hinder my ability to carve? (I know nothing about bevels and what they do)

Is this board okay for me? Will it perform well on powder and groomed runs (my style of riding)?

Will the centered stance have a big effect on my style of riding?

Basically, I'm curious if I can use a freestyle/park board for all-mountain use. I'm not sure if the Axum will be decent for that. At this point, I'm just cruising down runs.

If anyone rides an Axum, or is an experienced rider, please let me know your insight and share some knowledge!