What body armor for a beginner non-park boarder? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2009, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Alacazam

Default What body armor for a beginner non-park boarder?

Hi all --

I'm switching over from skiing to boarding this year and got to thinking about body armor.

Quite apart from protecting me from serious injury I'm getting older so I can't take the knocks like I used to

And one of my friends blew out last season, right at the start, in the dumbest/unluckiest accident (on piste, super conditions).

So this year I'm thinking "why not max out on protective gear?"

Like I said I'm new to boarding - the first thing I looked at, just because I'd seen others wearing them, was something like a Dainese full coat.

But then I thought what's this for - surely the back protector must be about protecting you from banging your spine off a rail (or crazy off piste terrain).

I don't see myself as a park boarder and I'm certainly not going to be doing any crazy off piste.

So is altogether more mundane gear what I should be looking at?

What would you recommend? Elbow guards, knee guards, shin guards, anything else?

(It's a given that I'll stick with my trusty ski helmet)

I was looking at Dainese's site and came across:
1. Modular impact shorts,
2. Snow knee guard air (appear to include shin guard),
3. Elbow guard lite air.

These all look cool but pretty heavy duty, for a beginner should I be looking at ligher stuff, e.g. is the full knee and shin guard combo OTT?

Or is this stuff about right?

Are the wrist guards that come with a good pair of gloves generally good enough? Or should I be looking at separate guards? I was looking at Ziener Massive GT gloves that seem to have a more substantial guard than most gloves, consisting of two pieces for the back and front of the hand and wrist.