Board size for female newbie aussie ex-skier - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2009, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
aussie

Question Board size for female newbie aussie ex-skier

Hi! I'm a total beginner female boarder - had a few lessons last year on crappy rental gear and hated it - gear didn't fit, board was trashed, bindings dug in etc, but I'm determined to make it work this year. And I'll be riding Big Mountain, MT, all winter so I'm buying gear. Burton Q boots, flow bindings, and I think I want the Never Summer Infinity-R board. Here's my question: what size board to get? I've read a ton of stuff about it, looked at all the charts, spoken to people at stores and am now v confused!

I'm 5'5 and weigh 105 lbs, size 7 boot. Folks are telling me all sorts of things from 145 to 156. I don't want to do park stuff, just ride the mountain and float through powder, and have control over my speed and turns. I'm not afraid of the mountain scene, being a skier, but I don't want to become afraid of boarding because my board is too long or too short...I also want my board to last me a few seasons so it's useful when I'm good!

Any input would be much appreciated - length for this board and reasons you think this length would work. This forum is great. I've been reading other threads, but noone is exactly my size etc, hence my post. Thanks a bunch!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-20-2009, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

the smallest one possible

GOD IS DONUT
legallyillegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I weigh the same and ride the 145cm Infinity-R. I would go with that size, especially if you are a beginner. The Infinity is already a fairly demanding board for a beginner and the longer your board, the harder it will be to turn.