Some basic gear questions - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2009, 05:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Default Some basic gear questions

I've been riding for 3 years, a week to ten days a season, and always rode rentals. I've got the basics down, and last year i played a bit on the kiddie terrain park at key. I'm gonna ride more this year, so it's time for me to step up and get my own gear.

some back ground, I'm 40, 6', 220lbs. size 13 boot, been wakeboarding for about 5 years, yeah i have a boat and ride about 3-4 days a week during the season. went out for the last time 2 weeks ago in Nebraska, and yeah water was COLD, I'm just stupid like that

On to my questions... on the water size and shape mean a lot, what's the difference in snowboards? All the rentals I've rode have been 155-158 but the size guide I found said I should be on a 163? How much does this matter? I ride pretty hard, and want to progress, what is a good set up for that? My budget is around 3-400 bucks and I'll be scouring e-bay and other places for used/closeout gear, what should I look for?
JeffreyCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2009, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Snowboarding101

I could see you riding a 163, if you want to freeride a lot. If you want to hit the park at all I would size down from a 163. I'm about 6' as well, 170 lbs. and I ride a 157, but I mainly ride park. The main thing you need to ask yourself is what kind of terrain do you want to ride? As far as finding gear goes, look at sierrasnowboard.com They have 50% off all 2009 snowboard gear, so just search gear from the 2009 season.
Old 11-22-2009, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Resident poet

Being a former husker, saw in your intro....nothing like riding the bluffs of misery