I need some beginner buying advice. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Falcon

Post I need some beginner buying advice.

I am a complete beginner needing to buy a board, boots, and bindings. I am a male, 6'2, 190 lbs, wear size 11.5-12 shoes. I have zero snowboarding experience but I've been doing a lot of reading lately, quite frankly I'm a little overwhelmed. There are so many choices, I'm looking for an all-mountain board I think, I'm not looking to do tricks. I hear that rocker is easier than camber so rocker i guess. Lately I've been looking at the K2 Anagram wide, it seems pretty good and its affordable. Anyways, suggestions anyone? Also whats the best place to buy from if your in Ontario?
Thanks,
Ben
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2009, 02:33 AM   #2 (permalink)

If you've never boarded before then most people will suggest you hire gear first. The thing with buying beginner oriented gear is, depending on how fast you learn can only take a week before you effectively outgrow it.

Learn on a hire/borrowed board, figure out what you like and how you ride, then think about buying.
Reede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 06:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
SMS1977

Hi Ben I was in your situation last year. I agree with Reede, you should really rent the first couple of times. If yu are going to buy may be just buy your boots and bindings and rent a board so that you can try a bunch (there is a place right around Blue Mountain where you can rent some pretty good boards - my brother rented a Vapor from them last year).