Help me find what I should look for - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2009, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Srt-4life

Default Help me find what I should look for

I've decided to try some real snowboarding but need a little info from you guys
Im 5' 11" 170ish lbs.
Wear a 10 1/2 shoe

Live in SE Wisconsin. I will be using the board at Local parks. Probably (Sunburst) and/or around my house and a few local little parks. Im just getting into it so im not sure how much im going to like it but im almost sure I will like it. (I enjoyed the cheap boards and always wanted a real one so I could do tricks and hit some jumps and not crash and die when I land)

I've never tried a real snowboard before. I have ridden cheap fleet farm boards but just ended up getting frustrated.

I guess im on a budget because im a beginner. I'd like to buy used if possible just to save money. I don't know which brands are good or bad ect. I do understand it would be best to buy new boots though so I get a perfect fit for ME. I don't mind buying older models but I don't want something ancient I guess.

I can't say what I would really do most in a park or around my house. From what i've seen im sure im gonna be trying the jumps. I will probably be trying the rails and stuff too (Don't know all the names of things in the parks )

What kind of board should I be looking for? How long/wide ect.? Basically im just starting out and need advice from experienced snowboarders. Im going to try and go to the park soon and just rent a board to get a feel for everything.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-09-2009, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
kyouness

looks like you're gonna be a park rider mostly. also considering you're a beginner, i'd recommend a noodle for you. look at soft park boards in the 152-154 range.