lamar vs K2, mens vs womans? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
bekki659

Default lamar vs K2, mens vs womans?

Hey guys! I'm brand new to snowboarding- as in, I've been like a handful of times. I got a board, bindings and boots from a guy I know for a REALLY cheap price when I moved up here, and so far, its been a good investment since I go often. My board is a 144 inch Lamar Merlot thats a few years old. It seems to be in decent shape.

My neighbor, who is a few inches taller than me (I'm a chick, he's a dude) and cant be more than 5-10 lbs heavier than me. He bought a new board this past fall, then decided recently that he has neither the money nor the motivation to go with me and my boyfriend/friends to the slopes. Its a K2 Brigade (I think? The letters are weird). Since he's roughly the same size as me, he said if I wanted it, and it worked for me, I could possibly buy it.

So my question is: which do you guys think would be better for me as far as board quality, size, fit, ect?

Me: 5'7 or so with boots on so, 123 lbs
Him: About 5'8, maybe a little less (without boots)

My board: 144 inches, about 2 inches below my chin with boots on (even though I hear thats not the best way to measure a board for a person)

His board: 147 inches, about 1.5 inches above my chin

These are the specs for his board:
waist: 24.5 cm
weight range: 110-190 lbs
sidecut: 7.90 m
effective edge: 116.77 cm
top width: 28.67 cm
tail width: same ^
stance width: 19 in

My board, from what I can see:
waist width: about 1/4 an inch smaller on each side of the waist than his
And towards the end, generally thinner than his (which I hear is better for women)

There isnt any noticeable difference in weight (not that I have a scale or anything)