Beginner looking for recommendations - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2010, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sir Ringo

Default Beginner looking for recommendations

I realize there are loads of these threads, but it seems that every person's application is a little different, so I thought I'd solicit some suggestions for myself.

Skill level: Complete beginner, took a few lessons years ago but want to get into it more seriously now
Height: 6'0"
Weight: 170-175lbs
Boot size: Haven't yet purchased them, but I would imagine around a 10
Style: All-mountain...I doubt I'll ever go to a park or anything
Budget: $500-600 for everything, so looking around $300 for the board itself
Area: In WI for this season, might be on the east coast for next season

I'm definitely looking for something that's more beginner-friendly than a board I'll need to grow into skill-wise. If I need to buy a new board some years in the future, I'm not too concerned. That said, I do plan on riding very often this season and will be taking some more lessons, so something that'll last me just a little longer would be best. With these criteria in mind, what recommendations do people have for boards? Thanks much in advance.

Last edited by Sir Ringo; 01-08-2010 at 02:17 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2010, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I would at first, suggest a twin tip board. Why? Because chances all later on you'll want to sooner or later try for some air off a nole, a jump, or go to the park all together. This way you can eventually learn to ride switch.