09 Custom ICS for POW? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Steveau

Default 09 Custom ICS for POW?

Hey All,

I'm off to Alaska in a few weeks and wanted to purchase a board for POW..

I currently own a K2 Darkstar WIDE (154) which ive been using for 2 years.. its a great board for it sinks to the bottom in powder!

I went to a few snowboard shops.. I've been recommended to buy the 09 Custom WIDE ICS 167 (which is on sale).. Its a pretty long board and im a bit worried its going to be to long for me.. I'm worried i wont be able to board down the groomed runs...(turn etc)..

I'm prob an intermediate boarder.

Any advice is much appreciated

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2010, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)

How tall are you and how much do you weigh?

A 167 is a HUGE board. It will probably be VERY different on the groomers. I would recommend you bring both boards and ride whatever you think you will be doing that day.

Have you looked into anything like the same size you have now except in a rocker shape, they are supposed to be much better in the deep stuff.
SchultzLS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
alasdairm

^ i agree. if you are used to riding a 154, i think a 167 is going to be pretty hard to handle (my powder board is 3cm longer than my day-to-day board).

buying a board which is not right for you because it seems like a bargain is never a good idea. another board for sale will come along so remember the saying "buy in haste, repent at leisure".

alasdair
Old 02-01-2010, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)

A 167 will turn like crap compared to the 154.