First Board Help - Burton Custom X - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2010, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default First Board Help - Burton Custom X

Hello everyone,

I'm new to purchasing snowboards but am not new to snowboarding. I have been successfully snowboarding for the past year but have yet to lay down a lump some for a board. I have probably lost money through just renting, but I guess that's what I get for being a cheap ass.

I have interest in the Burton Custom X Wide Snowboard because I hear it is a great all around mountain board. I'm a free ride boarder with some freestyle interests so I believe this is a good choice. Here is where I need an expert's advice.

I am 5'10 and 150lbs with a size 11 boot. On burton's site, I used their board generator and I was advised around a size (sorry if this is not the proper term) 157-158.

I found a board on eBay that is a new Custom X for $350. The size is 159. Is this a good buy and a good size for my size? Even though it is 159 is that fine? I'm 17 years old and I believe I have a tiny bit of growing left so is this a good plan?

Thanks for the support,
Texas Boarder
Texas Exclusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2010, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)

$350 is a good price for a Custom X. It is a weapon of a board tho and not a lot of people will recommend it as a first purchase. Unless you already ride at warp speed you would probably get better value out of a regular Custom.

You are also fairly light for a board that size (I am almost 40lbs heavier than you and I ride a 158 Custom) Unfortunately wide boards tend to be fairly limited size wise. At 17 tho you can plan to start getting fat once you go to college, then your board will be perfect.
Reede is offline   Reply With Quote