Beginner needs some sage advice - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner needs some sage advice

Hello guys, I'm new to the forum and I'm still a beginner. I'm 5"5 in height and my current weight is 145 (trying to get to 140-142, : P). My shoes are US9. I'm an athletic person but I need to get in better condition/shape. I've been using rental equipment every time I have gone snowboarding and I can say it was hard to learn on them especially linking my turns. I have only snowboarded 3 times (4 days in total) and I'm still learning to link my turns. I'm able to do it sometimes but would usually wipe out after some time because: a. I was going to fast or b. My legs are tired.

I have done my fair bit of research and also visited almost all the board shops in my city. I decided I would go for a rocker/reverse camber type board. I'm looking at the Ride Machete and K2 WWW. Which one of these boards are stiffer? If you have another suggestion, please do tell. What size of board should I get? I was a bit confused about the sizing because some say use the chin or nose height and then I read here that it is actually weight based. What I want to get out of my new board is learn how to ride with control and link turns smoothly. My budget for the boots, bindings and board is US$560.Should I buy the best boot and get used bindings/board? I've heard the boot the is the most important part.

Last edited by Old_Snake; 02-07-2010 at 02:50 PM.
Old_Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2010, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Snake View Post