If it ain't broke... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
darckeen

Default If it ain't broke...

I'd consider myself an expert freerider. A pure freerider/bomber, I don't do jumps, ride switch, never hit the parks, ollie or butter. When I started riding 20 years ago all my friends were skiers so the style I developed was all about conquering gnarly terrain. Steeps, chutes, trees, double blacks and moguls.

So now I need a new board. Should I consider one of the newer techs, most notably ns r.c. or should I just stick to what I know and get a regular old camber board. I'm still considering ns, just wondering if I’d be happier getting a 2009 w/o the rc.

Another issue is ice though; it’s the one terrain that I find sketchy. Is the varrio grip worth the trade off in the difference in feel from rc?

I guess the best question to ask seasoned riders, how was the transition to rc and do you love it or instead prefer the old regular camber models?

Also I live in the east coast so I've got no chance of demoing a ns, I could probably demo something in the burton line that might be comparable though.

Last edited by darckeen; 02-08-2010 at 02:05 AM. Reason: sp
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2010, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I assumed you've always ridden a regular camber board? If so, I'd recommend trying to demo an RC board before making the leap to buying one. You may find that you simply like regular camber more, especially for the type of riding you do.
linvillegorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
darckeen

Are there any burtons that have a rocker that feels similar to the never summers? Cause there's basically no way i can test a ns anytime soon.
Old 02-08-2010, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Member