When do I get a minor tune? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2010, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Florac

Default When do I get a minor tune?

I bought a new Roxy Ally Mtx/Btx last month and have ridden on it at the local hills 6 times since(4-5 hours each time). I looked at the base last night and I think it needs a wax(total noob, still learning). When I called a local shop to ask how long for a wax(need it by Saturday, heading to Lake Louise), they asked if I needed any tuning and I honestly have no clue. Is there a way to tell, keeping in mind that I just started snowboarding last month and can't tell based on performance yet.

A minor tune includes ceramic side edge and base edge sharpening and de-tuning, and wax.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-10-2010, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

a basic 'minor' tune would do you fine

in the future, apply one of the scenarios below based on the condition of your board

Basic Snowboard Tune: $32.95
Base refinishing, ceramic disk edging and hot wax.

Express Snowboard Tune: $39.95
Minor p-tex repair, and basic tune.

Super Express Snowboard Tune: $43.95
Major p-tex repair and basic tune.

tune shop vt prices
snoeboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

check ur edges up close, if they have a lot of nicks and gouges then yes, u should get it tuned.

it also depends on ur riding conditions, if there was a lot of ice and loose granular frozen man made snow then ur edges will wear out faster.

U should def wax ur board right now especially if u got it new and rode it 6x.

if u feel like ur board is wobbly and u dont have that gripping power anymore then yes, its time to tune
Old 02-10-2010, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)