Top Sheet Scuff - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2010, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
wampaSRT

Default Top Sheet Scuff

First off, this is my first post on this site. I have been snowboarding since 2005/06 but have only been on the slopes about 6 or 7 days total and rented each time. I finally invested in my own gear and went to Tahoe this past weekend. While on the mountain I collided with my wife and got a pretty big scuff on the tail of the board (I left the board in Tahoe so I will post pics on Thursday). The top sheet is black and the scuff is about 5-6 inches long, and looks white. It isn't too deep and is most deep at the tip of the tail but still didnt get past the top sheet.

Should I be worried about this or should I do anything to treat it before riding again?

The board is a 2010 DC PBJ LTD 155.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-23-2010, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
SHOTGUNABEER

You should be fine, it's only if it penetrates the woodcore b/c then swelling can happen and kill your board but as long as it's just a scrap/scratch you should be ok. If your not sure i would take it to a local shop.
Old 02-23-2010, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Yea your probably fine as long as its just a scratch and not a deep gouge or chip ..

If the back of your board got chipped up or the topsheet started peeling up due to the hit just use some 2 part 24 hour marine epoxy..

But you dont sound that bad
arsenic0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
wampaSRT

Yeah it's definitely not down to the core. It was a bummer though, first time out and it got a huge scratch, oh well shit happens.

thanks guys.
Old 02-24-2010, 12:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

you'll most likely get more scratches from skiers ramming your board in the lift line.