YOU! I need your help! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2007, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
YourSoCool

Default YOU! I need your help!

So I am completely new to snowboarding...so, new, I have never even been! I lived my whole life in georgia, so not much snow boarding down there...i moved up to chicago a few years ago, and now work with alot of guys that like to take a few ski trips a year...

i will be going with them MLK day and am contemplating whether or not to buy something...my stats

Male
6'1"
220 lbs.
26 yrs old
size 10.5 wide shoe
Skateboarder in high school (not very good, but i can still ride around with no problem)

so i was thinking about renting first, but i have a friend that has been snowboarding for a while and said we could get together on some big hills around him and he could teach me the basics before MLK...so by the time i do that, and go on the trip, i will have rented over $100 worth...

i have no doubt that i will like snowboarding, but i dont want to spend a ton of jack..

i need advise on a board and bindings for under $400 total($300 would be better)...i plan to spend around another $100 on boots...also, thinking freestyle is the way to go

also, a size calculator recommends 158 cm long, which i though would be kinda short for my weight...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2007, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fliprip420

Thumbs up ok

As far as package deals go on boards and bindings you should go to some shops and see what they have, a lot of shops have deals on Burton board and bindings that aren't too bad.

Another tip would be do not skimp out and get cheap boots because it will just leave you uncomfortable for the whole trip.