Outgrowing a board? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Outgrowing a board?

Hey. I'm new to snowboarding and I'm looking at buying a beginners board like a Burton Clash or something.

Assuming I progress at an average pace, how long would it take me to outgrow the board? At what point would I know I've outgrown the board and need to upgrade to a higher end board?

Thanks!
simby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-07-2010, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I don't understand this whole buying "beginner boards" thing. Why not just buy a decent board to start with?

If you want a beginner board just to learn on, hop on CL and pick up something cheap, then buy a good board.

I just don't understand spending decent money on a board to just learn on with the intention of buying a better boarrd pretty much as soon as you're decent.
linvillegorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 09:49 AM   #3 (permalink)

It's easier to learn and pick up skills with a beginner board is it not? I guess it really depends on how much difference a beginner vs. intermediate/advanced board makes when learning how to snowboard. If the difference is not significant, then ya, no need to buy a beginner board.
simby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simby View Post
It's easier to learn and pick up skills with a beginner board is it not? I guess it really depends on how much difference a beginner vs. intermediate/advanced board makes when learning how to snowboard. If the difference is not significant, then ya, no need to buy a beginner board.