Park board for a heavier guy? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2010, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Red face Park board for a heavier guy?

I'm stocky at 5'8 and 230 lbs. I currently have a 02 Custom @ 158 and NS Premier @ 161. Looking to try to get into the park with some butters and simple rails and boxes with jumps here and there. I expect to be around 200 by next season and was looking for a board. Any recommendations for something my size? I was thinking maybe a softer all mountain board in case I don't enjoy all the falling at my size and age (37). Maybe something along the lines like my Custom. Or should I just get a dedicated park board for buttering and just having fun since I already have my Premier for my all mountain charging?

I started riding in the mid 90s and only got maybe 10 runs this last season and only like 6 in the previous 6 seasons. Before that had a season pass for two years and my local mountain. I'd like to get back into it and hopefully find a share in a house this coming season. Or is it too late to try jumps and jibs @ my age? I never really ventured into the park then and did mostly all mountain and doing the natural hits on the way down.

Any feedback would be great.
Magnum626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-11-2010, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I'm 31 and 270. I ride a 158 Evo in the park and have a blast on it. I have some massive spills here and there, I don't heal like I used to, but whatever.

go for it man. No reason to tip-toe though life just to arrive safely at death's door.
Old 03-11-2010, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
BoardNbob

Hey man,