Board Sizing Advice - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2010, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Govenno31

Default Board Sizing Advice

So I am relatively new to snowboarding, but picked it up fast and love it. I need help determining what type of board I really need though. Right now I have a Rossi 121 Mini and a Sims 160 Wide. I am 6'1", 160, and wear a boot size 10.5. When I ride the 121, I can carve and do great on the mountain. When I ride the 160, it is more stable, but I have alot harder time carving and controlling my transitions to my toe edge. I almost feels sometimes like the board is running away before I can get the pressure down on it that I want. So, looking at sizing calculators and reading these forums, I've gathered that I should be riding a 160-165, but considering how much better I do on the 121, I think I need something smaller. Is a 155W too small? Any help? Thanks so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2010, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)

you should be fine on a 155.

I'm at your weight and I ride a 156.
TB020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

For reference, I'm 180 and ride a 158 on groomers and a 165 in powder. I'd say a 155 would be fine, but I'd question a wide board. It might make your transitions harder if you don't need it. I also have 10.5 boots and I don't need a wide.
Rome Anthem 158
Flick Montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
VAhasnoWAVES

how did you calculate that you needed a 160-165?

o.O

i would suggest 155-158. my boot size is a 12 and i ride a 159. not a wide either. and ive got quite a few pounds on you.
Old 03-13-2010, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Govenno31