Another (more specific) Beginner Question - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 01:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Another (more specific) Beginner Question

Hey guys, I'm another beginner looking to get into snowboarding; I've gone a couple times with friends and have gotten hooked. I'm a true beginner, but am planning on taking some lessons in the near future as well as making regular trips to Tahoe. Since I'm a poor college student, I figured it would be more cost effective to buy now rather than renting every trip or buying in the future. Specifically, I'm looking for a setup that:

1) is cost effective (I don't want to shell out $500+ for just a board)
2) is beginner friendly
3) will continue to perform as I progress

As for my personal specs, I'm 5'9", 185lbs--some chubs, some muscle—looking mainly to ride the groomers of Tahoe with some trips to the park. I’ve been looking into a couple Ride boards, the Crush and the Antic.

The Crush: I believe it’s a park board, but I’ve read that a softer flex is better suited to learning. Would getting a relatively long Crush (158 or 161) be a good board for learning while being able to perform moderately well on the mountain? I’m not looking for a board that will handle really high speeds—I figure I can always buy a new one when I reach that point—just one that can perform from beginner to an upper level intermediate.