Noob comparing a couple K2 boards. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Noob comparing a couple K2 boards.

I just started riding this winter (transitioned from skis) and have really, really enjoyed it, so I'm looking to buy my own gear for next season. I think I can figure out bindings and boots for myself, but I am unsure on a board. My workplace rents K2 cross country skis and snowshoes, and can thus get K2 gear, so I'm limiting myself to K2 boards unless somebody tells me I really ought to look elsewhere.

My stats:
5'9"
sz 12 feet
Age 29
Budget is whatever I need to spend to get something that won't hold me back in learning.
Since I'm new I'm basically on groomers, but since the vast majority of my riding will be at Bridger Bowl, which gets a lot of pow, I figure I need a board that will work for this.

The two boards I'm looking at right now are the Podium Wide 163 and the Turbo Dream Wide 164. Prices for buying next year's Podium through my work and buying this year's Turbo Dream on closeout are comparable. My question is which to go for. Given that the Turbo Dream is a higher dollar board for the same $$$, my initial impulse is to go for it, but reading reviews online has given me mixed info. Some say it is a good beginner board, others that it's better for those with experience. The reviews all seem to suggest that it's a good all-around board that excels in powder but can handle groomers okay too.

I guess my question is whether buying the higher-end board from the start is going to actually be hard for me to handle, like a 16 year old driving a Corvette. On the flipside, is there a board by another manufacturer I should really look at instead? Thanks.
Kesserendrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement