My board dilemma ROCKER - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My board dilemma ROCKER

Watsup people, i am currently searching for that perfect board for spring boarding and next season while the prices are low. I am 5'6 about 155 and athletic build. I am just getting into the park scene (jibbing rails jumps etc) and wanted a board with some good flex and is good for learning the ropes when it comes to getting some air but is still solid on the rails. Also the lighter the better! Right now my top picks are:

Ride Machete
LibTech Skate Banana
Gnu Riders choice
Was also considering the Ride DH2 and the LibTech Banana Magic although i heard they are a bit on the stiffer end.Also heard some good things about the Gnu Park Pickle for my needs...

I also Know that the Machete has a much mellower rocker then the banana which makes it preform better all over the mountain.
Any input is appreciated. Thanks
PS on the east coast
snowaddict25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2010, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)

if you're on the east coast, it begins and ends with Lib-tech/GNU magnetraction.
mrpez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 12:57 PM   #3 (permalink)

What kind of boards have you owned/ridden in the past? Is this going to be a purely park board for you, or will you also be taking it all mountain?

I personally prefer a mellower three-stage style rocker in something like the Machete, but that's just my preference. I've never ridden a Mervin (Lib/Gnu/Roxy) board to see if Magnetraction would help me, but if you are going for something with a more aggressive rocker shape, I would suggest it just based on the physics of it.
2010 Burton Ruler
CoopersTroopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)