How to tell if your snowboard is new? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
cikays

Default How to tell if your snowboard is new?

Hi everyone,

I am new to snowboarding and I have an elementry question that I hope some of you guys (or girls) can help me with. I recently bought a 'NEW' NS SL-R from eBay. When it arrived, I had a good look at it and I found there were imperfections on the base of the board. They were like scratches, but really superficial as i couldnt even feel it with my fingers. And they were not all over the base, which made me a bit confused if the board has been used or is brand new, but just a little banged up.

Now my question is, IF you mount bindings on the board, and used it (say once or twice) and you remove your bindings, will you already have made permanent marks on the topsheet? Specifically the round marks of the mount disc?

Thank you all

Cheers
Darren
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2010, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)

Did it have the OBJ factory waxed sticker and foil eagle on the bottom? Come with a NS board sleeve? You should be able to easily tell if it's ridden by looking at the edges etc. A scratch or 2 is normal on a new board depending on how the person u got it from stored it etc... As far as the mounting circles. Yes most bindings will leave these pretty quick. If you use a binding with base plate padding like the Rome 390/Targa you don't have the circle problem.
Old 04-05-2010, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
cikays

Hi Fluids,